Mod Suggestion: New Travel Mod

Talk about the mods you'd like to see in Daggerfall Unity. Give mod creators some ideas!
Ralzar

Mod Suggestion: New Travel Mod

Post by Ralzar »

So, me and many others consider Tedious Travel to be an integral part of a modded Daggerfall experience. However, TT is not even finished, leaving it with bugs and bare-bones mechanics that the rest of us modders have to work around somehow while hopeing for the mod creator to show up again at some point.

At some point someone will probably make a new mod to replace Tedious Travel. Probably not me, as I am an amateur coder at best and while I could perhaps copy the work of TT I could probably not improve much upon it.

So, what I can contribute with, is design ideas :D

How to make a new travel mod that takes the basic idea of Tedious Travel, but is not stuck to the work that mod did.

1: No "Ports" button. Instead, mark all ports with a golden circle. See Pangos accessibility setting for the travel map for an example of what I'm talking about. This way, the mod uses the original travel map, but simply adds an effect to some existing loactions.
These circles could also be color-coded to show a difference between ports with ships and ports that only work if you own a ship.

2: Limit travel speed. When going too fast, the game(or other mods) easily bug out. Besides, if you use this mod you have allready accepted that travel will be a bit... well, tedious.

3: Coach service. Much like the airship mod. Add an NPC (I am thinking an actual wagon/coach sprite or model) that you click on to buy passage to a town using vanilla fast travel locked to a specific set of fast travel settings: Use ship, stay at inns, travel cautiously. You can only choose towns as destinations.

4: Using the Fast Travel window for the mod. See below.

Change layout slightly. Maybe rename it to "Realtime Travel".
map.PNG
map.PNG (143.81 KiB) Viewed 944 times
SPEED