Reload/Refresh Textures

Need something opened in the core for your mod, or even help with research?
ifkopifko
Posts: 81
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 9:03 am

Re: Reload/Refresh Textures

Postby ifkopifko » Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:04 pm

Just a note: PNG files are compressed, it is lossless compression, but it is compressed. For 1024x2048 pixels, 24 bits per pixel, it is 6MB uncompressed. So all your upscaled textures could take up 10GB in 24bit bitmap format. Not sure if it would explain the behaviour you described though.
User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 1975
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Reload/Refresh Textures

Postby Interkarma » Sat Jan 13, 2018 12:08 am

King of Worms wrote:The problem with upscaled enemy NPCs in dungeons for ex. they just massacre the system memory. Dont know what is going on there. Every upscaled NPC set has like 10-30mb on HDD. Ingame, it goes to 10s of gigabites of memory... I THINK maybe if the dung has 100 enemies, it caches each enemy? So 20*30mb for 20 rats. 10*30mb for 10 skeletons. 20*30mb for 20 bats etc?


ifkopifko wrote:Just a note: PNG files are compressed, it is lossless compression, but it is compressed. For 1024x2048 pixels, 24 bits per pixel, it is 6MB uncompressed. So all your upscaled textures could take up 10GB in 24bit bitmap format. Not sure if it would explain the behaviour you described though.


ifkopifko pretty much nails it. The size of source image on disk doesn't correspond with how engine stores that image internally for GPU. Currently this is RGBA32 format, so a full 32-bits per pixel. With DXT5 compression, this will come down to 4:1 ratio, or around 8-bits per pixel on average with almost the same overall fidelity.

I'll see what I can do with improved cache management once modded textures are compressed. :)
User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow
Contact:

Re: Reload/Refresh Textures

Postby King of Worms » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:33 am

This sounds very promising, thanks Interkarma. Many games had "compress textures" option, and usually, I was not able to tell the difference between compressed and not. So lets hope it will work here as well. Fingers crossed. And thanks Pifko for the explanation as well!

PS: Its interresting to me, that the original 256 color textures benefit from the 32 bit depth, but I dont understand jack in this department anyway ;) maybe it adds up to smooth gradients when its rendered

Return to “Work Requests”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest