Searching -- partner to implement high quality sprite art replacement mod

Discuss modding questions and implementation details.
shadowfangs99

Searching -- partner to implement high quality sprite art replacement mod

Post by shadowfangs99 »

Hello

I am a 2D artist and have recently gotten into Daggerfall Unity. I'm loving the game and noticed that no mod currently exists for sprites that goes beyond up-scaling with minors touches.

I'm interested in exploring filling that gap, manually redrawing all of the sprites to look attractive and appropriate in higher resolution. In order to do this I'm asking/looking for someone (well versed with the game) to handle the back end of implementation as well as feed me the original files to draw from. (I hope that isn't too much to ask) I want to remain faithful to the art style but strongly update the illustrations, so someone to give critical feedback and adjustments would be ideal.

I believe having characters 2D is important to keeping the game's unique old school RPG atmosphere intact while giving it a desperately needed update of clarity. Many sprites were left muddy and smooth by the upscale process, others still are missing faces for frames of animation.

I would like to have a discussion on how many frames per character exist so I can be more aware of the workload this kind of project would entail and what modulation could be considered to have it be piece mailed, (perhaps paper-doll first) without contrasting harshly against incomplete sections. What file type and size would be appropriate etc.

I'm enthusiastic and hopeful that this could be accomplished in a respectable form with reasonable development.

Thank You

MasonFace

Re: Searching -- partner to implement high quality sprite art replacement mod

Post by MasonFace »