Changing cities/towns?

Discuss modding questions and implementation details.
User avatar
Hazelnut
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by Hazelnut »

imsobadatnicknames wrote: Sun Jan 24, 2021 1:38 am Dungeons can have multiple entrances so I guess it would be possible to modify Daggerfall castle to add an additional crypt dungeon module that doesn't connect to the rest of the dungeon, and turn the crypt model in the town cementery into another entrance. However, a problem with multi-entrance dungeons is that no matter where you enter trough, you'll appear in the same part of the dungeon, so if you did that entering through the crypt door would still end up with you appearing in the main room in Castle Daggerfall.
Your guess is wrong, I think.. I'd have to spend some time to be sure, but IIRC the DF data structure for a location can only have one dungeon defined.
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

User avatar
BadLuckBurt
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:30 pm

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by BadLuckBurt »

Hazelnut wrote: Mon Feb 01, 2021 1:56 pm but IIRC the DF data structure for a location can only have one dungeon defined.
Yep, that is correct. There is no way to add more than one dungeon to a location.
Daggerfall Unity on UESP: https://en.uesp.net/w/index.php?title=T ... fall_Unity
Daggerfall Unity on Nexus Mods: https://www.nexusmods.com/daggerfallunity
My github repositories with mostly DFU related stuff: https://github.com/BadLuckBurt

User avatar
Daniel87
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2019 6:25 pm

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by Daniel87 »

How many locations can spawn per MapPixel? Only one, right?

User avatar
BadLuckBurt
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:30 pm

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by BadLuckBurt »

Daniel87 wrote: Mon Feb 01, 2021 3:11 pm How many locations can spawn per MapPixel? Only one, right?
Yes, that's correct as well.
Daggerfall Unity on UESP: https://en.uesp.net/w/index.php?title=T ... fall_Unity
Daggerfall Unity on Nexus Mods: https://www.nexusmods.com/daggerfallunity
My github repositories with mostly DFU related stuff: https://github.com/BadLuckBurt

haloterm
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 5:21 am

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by haloterm »

imsobadatnicknames wrote: Thu Jan 21, 2021 9:04 pm so if you create a custom city or dungeon and want a quest that only takes place there, you'll have to define it as a permanent site. I'm not sure how to do that or if it's even possible at the moment
Yes that is possible. You do it in the C# file which you use for mod setup.

When I am back at my PC I can look for an example.

Edit: Here's a quick screenshot of my current "Black Horse Courier.cs"

Image

There I add a few new and old places to the places table, so they can be accessed by quest files, for example the city of Tulune as "TuluneCity":

Code: Select all

Place _TuluneCity_ permanent TuluneCity

User avatar
Hazelnut
Posts: 2664
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Changing cities/towns?

Post by Hazelnut »

Yep, that's how I did it for places and unique npcs in Roleplay & Realism too. Note that I also needed to define new factions for the npcs. Please do register any id's you use in the thread pinned in released mods. Ta.
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

Post Reply