Cursor using filtering [RESOLVED]

chtujo

Cursor using filtering [RESOLVED]

Post by chtujo »

I'm not sure if this a bug or even worth posting, but it's been bugging me for a while.

The issue is the cursor always seems to use some sort of texture filtering, even with UI filtering set to point. This isn't with the latest build.

Interkarma

Re: Cursor using filtering

Post by Interkarma »

This frustrated me a while back. The cursor texture itself is set to point filtering, but the hardware cursor always seems to render with a filtered look. Not sure if this is a platform thing (e.,g. Windows/Linux) or a Unity thing.

Admittedly I didn't spend a lot of time on the problem. Happy to accept this as a bug for now and I'll see if I can do anything about it in future. However, I won't be changing to a software cursor, it must remain a hardware cursor.

chtujo

Post by chtujo »

Thanks! I'm not really sure what you're getting at with the hardware/software cursors though as I'm not a programmer. I do know that texture filtering looks awful with Daggerfalls default assets though.

Interkarma

Post by Interkarma »

A hardware cursor runs at operating system level and is independent from game rendering, frame-rate, etc. It's the most responsive type of cursor but unfortunately we don't have much control over its presentation because it's drawn by the operating system.

A software cursor runs within the games render environment and is heavily tied to frame rate. You have the most control over the cursor appearance (because you are drawing it within the game), but it's incredibly sensitive to performance and resolution. If you've ever experienced cursors that are laggy/swimmy, or scale weirdly when you change resolution (e.g. too big or too small) it's usually because they're using a software cursor that renders inside the game itself. I personally dislike software cursors.