Custom quest support

For all talk about quests. Creating, testing, bugs, and development progress.
User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma » Sat Nov 04, 2017 3:14 am

There were some changes to this action recently, possibly something broken.

Could I trouble you for a save or a quick repro quest? Will take a look at this when I can.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H » Sat Nov 04, 2017 4:34 am

Of course :) The save game is running this quest: JHPQ018.txt. The use action is meant for the Mark item.

http://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxjB9-1 ... lBIU2NsR1E
**INDEFINITE HIATUS** Current priority list: 1. Writing Archaeologist content; 2. Revamping classic DF quests; 3. Writing new DFU quests. Only in free time, no guarantees made.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma » Mon Nov 06, 2017 5:46 am

I see the problem. The ItemUsedDo action is inside an inactive task. The problem is that nothing is starting the _tele1a_ task for ItemUsedDo to become active.

Code: Select all

_tele1a_ task:
         _mark1_ used do _tele1b_
ItemUsedDo isn't a trigger condition, it's just an action which starts another action. This means its parent task needs to be running before it will do anything.

A good solution is just to move the ItemUsedDo action up into the startup task. That way it will just sit and wait for item to be used.

If you want item use to be conditional (e.g. only usable after some plot point), that's when you'd assign the action to inactive task to be started later.

I hope that helps! Let me know how you get on.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 1064
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:50 pm

Yes, that worked. Thank you for taking the time to look into it.

The quest itself has developed a new problem, but it's outside the scope of the teleport parameter. Attempting to teleport to a residence quest marker leaves me far under the world, outdoors. But that's not what teleport is intended for, and if it's implemented at all, I should wait for it to be a future occurrence.
Image

I'll just modify the quest so it works in an acceptable manner.
**INDEFINITE HIATUS** Current priority list: 1. Writing Archaeologist content; 2. Revamping classic DF quests; 3. Writing new DFU quests. Only in free time, no guarantees made.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 2307
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma » Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:11 pm

Yeah, I definitely structured this to be dungeon-only. But there's no reason it couldn't work for buildings as well, I just need to add support for it. I'll take a look at this when I can.

Edit: Just had a look at this. Buildings are possible, but will need some extra support to quest system to handle teleport correctly. I don't have time to deep-dive into this now, but will get to it when I can. :)

Post Reply