Custom quest support

For all talk about quest development - creation, testing, and quest system.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4062
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H »

I've put them into startup, and the victory task still isn't triggering.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 7236
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma »

Give me a full repro quest to play please and I'll take a look. Cheers.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 7236
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma »

Also, the correct syntax is:
have _art1_ set _victory_
That could be it too. :)

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4062
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H »

Still not working, sorry. Here's the zip file for the quest.

Take your time with it though, I don't want to interrupt the fantastic progress you're making with spell effects :)
Attachments
JHFG011.txt.zip
(1.7 KiB) Downloaded 83 times

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 7236
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma »

It works OK for me. Here's a repro quest with just the "core concept" and none of the flavour.

Code: Select all

Quest: JHFG011

QRC:

QuestLogEntry:  [1010]
 Go to __dung_ and
 find _art1_ on some _bad_.

Message:  1020
<ce>You have found _art1_!

QBN:

Foe _bad_ is Mage
Item _art1_ artifact Auriels_Shield
Place _dung_ remote dungeon

-Quest start-up:
	log 1010 step 0
	reveal _dung_
	place foe _bad_ at _dung_
	give item _art1_ to _bad_
	have _art1_ set _victory_

_victory_ task:
	say 1020
	end quest
I travel to the dungeon, kill the mage, pick up the item, and get the alert once _victory_ triggers.

I didn't go through your quest in detail to find out what's going wrong, but the HaveItem action does appear to be working as intended. This action is also used in Sx008 when player picks up the totem. I just tested one of my old saves and this is firing OK as well.

I hope that helps!

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4062
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H »

I'll give it some more effort then, thank you for trying it.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4062
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H »

The repro quest doesn't run for me on #116 :lol: The "get quest" button just does nothing. Player log repeats an offering:

Code: Select all

Quest pool has 1
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Time to parse quest JHFG011 was 70ms.
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Offering quest JHFG011 from Guild FightersGuild affecting factionId 41
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Quest pool has 1
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Time to parse quest JHFG011 was 68ms.
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Offering quest JHFG011 from Guild FightersGuild affecting factionId 41
 
(Filename: /home/builduser/buildslave/unity/build/artifacts/generated/common/runtime/DebugBindings.gen.cpp Line: 51)

Unloading 0 Unused Serialized files (Serialized files now loaded: 2)

Unloading 26 unused Assets to reduce memory usage. Loaded Objects now: 4418.
Total: 159.534012 ms (FindLiveObjects: 1.132000 ms CreateObjectMapping: 0.220000 ms MarkObjects: 158.040009 ms  DeleteObjects: 0.141000 ms)
So something's wrong here but as I said before, I'm willing to shelf this until a more dedicated time comes along to look at it.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 7236
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma »

I just ran repro quest in #116 and it works perfectly. You need to start it with "startquest JHFG011" from the console. It has no offer text, so it can't be delivered any other way.

The only purpose of this quest is to demonstrate that HaveItem action is working as intended.

Let me know how you go. :)

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4062
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Jay_H »

Ha, ha, ha :D Yes, it works perfectly. Thank you for your patience. I'll dissect it and see what I can do for my own quest.
Last edited by Jay_H on Wed May 30, 2018 3:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 7236
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Custom quest support

Post by Interkarma »

No worries mate. Just let me know if you keep coming up against problems. If you do, please try to create a minimum viable quest script to reproduce problem. I find this can also be a great way to isolate why a system is failing.

Post Reply