Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Curated user bug reports with enough information to reproduce problem. Moderators will move topics here from Help & Support once a bug has been confirmed and enough information has been provided.
Post Reply
Jay_H
Posts: 3419
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Jay_H »

This is best shown with a video:



After I load the game, the debugger refuses to show while I'm in the city. If I leave the city limits, I can see the quest buildings until I re-enter the city.
Farewell DFU community! My time here has been a joy.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 5896
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Interkarma »

Those look like different quests though. Does the second quest also happen inside the same town? The debugger only shows locators while player is inside the town where that quest takes place.

Jay_H
Posts: 3419
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Jay_H »

It's the same quest each time. I'm going through them one by one for testing.

Looks like fast travelling to the same city remedies the problem.
Farewell DFU community! My time here has been a joy.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 5896
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Interkarma »

Thank you, I'll take a look when I can. :)

Jay_H
Posts: 3419
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Jay_H »

Just some more info: this happens a ton after teleporting into a city, and usually leaves the location markers way, way below or above the city. I guess it's just a problem with height coordinates. Most of the time if I look at the floor I can see the markers display, and if I leave the city they return to their proper height. Odd bug.
Farewell DFU community! My time here has been a joy.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 5896
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Interkarma »

Yeah, definitely an issue with floating Y. I was fighting this a bit during development and thought I'd resolved all the bad cases (debugger overlay is a bit of a hacky UI). I just haven't had the energy to face it again yet. :)

Jay_H
Posts: 3419
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Linux 0.7.126: Quest debug fails to show after loading game

Post by Jay_H »

Well, it's certainly not a priority. If it never gets fixed, AFAIK a 100% workaround is to just fast travel to where you already are :) So fix or not it should be workable.
Farewell DFU community! My time here has been a joy.

Post Reply