Introduction and Contribution (Starting controls interface)

Discuss Daggerfall Unity and Daggerfall Tools for Unity.
JustinS

Introduction and Contribution (Starting controls interface)

Post by JustinS »

Hey guys, nice to meet you. I have a couple years of self-taught experience with web dev, and I've messed with pet projects in Unity off and on for about as long. I tried Daggerfall for the first time a couple weeks ago and loved it. Found out about this project a few days ago and decided to contribute as much as I possibly can.

I picked the keybind interface off of the roadmap and started working on it. I have the main keybinds interface, mouse controls, and joystick controls all hooked together but no other functionality yet. You can see it here:

I haven't worked with a team before so I'm not really sure at what stage of completion I should submit a pull request to the main repo, so let me know. Also, I wondered if we were planning on/interested in setting up other methods of communication and coordination like Trello, Slack, Discord, etc.

Looking forward to working with you all!

Interkarma

Re: Introduction and Contribution (Starting controls interface)

Post by Interkarma »

Hey JustinS, welcome to the forums!

This is great, you've made an excellent start with wiring up these UI windows so far.

I've created a new branch for you called 'keybind-ui' on github. If you can send me pull request with your changes to this branch, I'd be happy to review and help you progress the feature. Just let me know if you need any direction with sending a pull request.

JustinS

Post by JustinS »

Thanks Interkarma. Do we plan on implementing the classic control scheme with the HUD bar at the bottom and clicking around the screen edges to move, or only mouse look?

Interkarma

Post by Interkarma »