Questions about mod capabilities

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
kingOfWyrms

Questions about mod capabilities

Post by kingOfWyrms »

So when I first discovered DFTFU, I went through the tutorials and made some amateur edits to some files to change the combat controls. I'm looking to update it to the new mod format, but I am not very experienced in coding, and am not sure what the capabilities of the mod loader are. Specifically, I'd like to know if it's possible to add new input controls, change the hit detection and attack properties, and how much these things would have to affect compatibility with other mods. Would I have to swap out DFU's base files for my own modified ones? Is there some way to change these areas without causing incompatibility with other mods that might touch said files? And is such a mod even possible with the system?

Thank you for any help you can give.

Interkarma

Re: Questions about mod capabilities

Post by Interkarma »

I would say many core classes will not be exposed to mod system for some time, and not at all in some cases. At present the mod system is best suited for new content and add-on behaviours (see existing mods like far terrain, grass, birds for good examples of what can work well). I'd consider changing something as fundamental as the combat and hit detection to be a code contribution rather than a mod.

I imagine modders are going to hit all sorts of limits this early in development. They will need access to parts of the code that aren't currently open, or will need to hook into events that don't currently exist. But the best way to stretch these limits is to get people creating stuff and grow mod capabilities along with the core. This has been going on at a smaller scale with the current round of mods and should accelerate over time.