Re Twitter

Off topic discussion. Talk about gaming and life in general. Be awesome to each other.
Jay_H

Re Twitter

Post by Jay_H »

Interkarma, you sometimes post things on Twitter that I can't respond to since I don't tweet :) I was hoping to use one condensed thread to correspond with what you write, if that's all right. (And clearly this would also be everyone's thread, not just mine.) This'll also give me an organized place to react to some of the cool stuff you post as progress.
Interkarma wrote:More I think the different "modes" (steal, grab, info, talk) could be streamlined. The verb can be derived from context (e.g. crouch to steal). I'd love to hear everyone else's thoughts on this. How attached are you to the F1-F4 mode selection? Is it clunky or cool?
I'm only used to them because I've been playing Daggerfall for 20 years. I see them as an impediment to new Daggerfall players.

Grab and Talk are literally identical. Info has no overlap at all with Grab/Talk, so its purposes could be assimilated directly into Grab/Talk without losing anything. Stealing would require a different mode. Crouching is one option, if we called it "sneak" instead; Walking could be another option.

Interkarma

Re: Re Twitter

Post by Interkarma »

Thank you for your feedback! So far, I've only had one person outright state they prefer the mode selection. Most seem to either not care or actively dislike it.

Another idea is click to activate/talk and a brief (e.g. ~300ms) click-and-hold for info. For example, click an NPC to speak with them or click-and-hold to just see their name as per info mode. The only odd mode out then is stealth/steal, which pretty much shares state with crouch in later ES games anyway.

I'll definitely keep the mode switches for purists, but I'd love to hear feedback from others around how they would prefer this to work as a quality of life enhancement. Nothing is decided yet and other suggestions are welcome. :)

Arl

Post by Arl »