Terrain Sampler Troubles

Discuss modding questions and implementation details.
chtujo

Terrain Sampler Troubles

Post by chtujo »

Hi, I've recently been trying to make my own terrain sampler, I'm not very experienced with C# or Unity. Because of this I've been studying other people's mods to try and figure out how everything works.

To do this I've been using the extract text function in the mod menu in my DFU game installation, then moving the extracted scripts over to a cloned DFU Repository / Unity project. I've tried this with 2 different mods, Distant Terrain (2.8.1) and Interesting terrains (0.5.2). I first tried Distant terrain, but when I tried to enter playmode there was a compile error:

Code: Select all

Assets/Game/Mods/distant terrain/ImprovedWorldTerrain.cs(29,48): error CS0713: Static class 'ImprovedWorldTerrain' cannot derive from type 'TerrainSampler'. Static classes must derive from object.
I then tried Interesting terrain, which compiled fine, and I could enter playmode, however the default terrain sampler was not overwritten.

I'm using Unity 2019.4.10f1 Personal.

Have I made an error, or am I just missing something? Thanks.

Daniel87

Re: Terrain Sampler Troubles

Post by Daniel87 »

I'm not sure how well a dfmod package can be reverse engineered. I think the better approach might be to study the original terrain sampler to get a basic understanding of the algorithms governing the terrain creation, copy the script and rename it and write a short startpoint script as in the tutorials here, to load your own script instead of the original one. From there you "only" have to adjust your script to do as you want or extend the existing functions.
To get a better understanding of how the machinery works, you can also try and adjust values in the original daggerfall scripts and then test run it and see if and what changed.