Daggerfall Heraldry Concepts

Show off your mod creations or just a work in progress.
NikitaTheTanner

Daggerfall Heraldry Concepts

Post by NikitaTheTanner »

Here is some work I have done in the last few days. I've slowly compiled a full collection of heraldry for every region, as well as some prominent factions.

I do think Daggerfall will benefit from improving upon the world, detailing the factions and the world. Symbols are one of the first things which came to my mind.

Consider these "Concepts", for their quality varies and I am not sure how useful they would actually be in the game. But I've tried to capture the feel of every place, name and faction in these, as well as make every single one simple, unique and memorable.

If you have some comments or critique, feel free to post here. I am glad to improve upon these as much as possible. And no, I did not draw these, at least not most of them, I am a rather poor artist. They are mostly compiled from other images and somewhat edited.

P.S. Updated pictures with the new versions, since I consider them an improvement.

Last edited by NikitaTheTanner on Thu Apr 13, 2017 11:17 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Narf the Mouse

Re: Daggerfall Heraldry Concepts

Post by Narf the Mouse »

Sounds useful for playing the political game. :)
Previous experience tells me it's very easy to misunderstand the tone, intent, or meaning of what I've posted. If you have questions, ask.

NikitaTheTanner

Yeah, the idea is to give some visual representation to every power in the game, where it makes sense. It could be used in a variety of ways: in UI to show relationship and reputation, on banners and tapestries to show allegiance of the place, maybe even on armor and shields one day, etc.

Plus, hopefully, we might start talking about different factions and regions, what makes them special and how we can improve on that in future mods. For instance, politics, history, economics of factions and regions, etc.