[MOD] Distant Terrain

A curated forum for approved mods. Users are unable to create new topics in this forum but can reply to existing topics. Please message a moderator to have your mod moved into this forum area.
User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:17 am

VMblast wrote:
Oh, I totally forgot about the -winter scheme- :roll:
Good stuff so far, I love it.
Take your time buddy, my mind is still trying to catch up with this sorcery your weaving :shock:
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1122
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Nystul » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:41 am

Next Version of Distant Terrain will work with fov different than 65, easy fix, just need the time to code it.

About the 3min crash. I don't think it is the card - how much gpu memory does it have. It seems like you are running with model replacements. Those are memory intensive. What if you deactivate every other mod except distant terrain? Is it still crashing then after a few minutes?

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:43 pm

Nystul wrote:About the 3min crash. I don't think it is the card - how much gpu memory does it have. It seems like you are running with model replacements. Those are memory intensive. What if you deactivate every other mod except distant terrain? Is it still crashing then after a few minutes?
4GB.
Was testing outside privateers hold.
I even rested 48 hours, same thing, 3 mins BAM.
I'll try again with EVERYTHING off.
Could it be the texture pack with the temperate Terrain ?
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1122
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Nystul » Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:26 pm

ok 4gb is plenty, so that can't be it - keep me informed ;) thanks for testing

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:42 pm

@Nystul
So completely removed the texture folder, turned every mod off, and turned off the first setting in distant Terrain (TerrainTransition).
Seems to work (it still crashes with that first one on).
OMG, I've been standing in front of pv hold for hours :lol:
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 2:50 pm

@Nystul
All mods back on, texture folder back in.
Still going.
I'll leave it on for a bit and see what happens.
So it's that first setting it looks like.
*crossing fingers*
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1122
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Nystul » Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:00 pm

I made a new version which should fix fov issue, if you want pls try:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1QjwG ... sp=sharing

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:07 pm

Nystul wrote:I made a new version which should fix fov issue, if you want pls try:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B1QjwG ... sp=sharing
Ok.
So terrain transition, interesting......its still going :D
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:17 pm

@Nystul
Yep, fixed issues with terrain @72 FOV.
Let me burn it in to make sure no crash...
Did you change anything with Terrain Transitions ?
I have it off, and is the blah blah blah.. repositioning player when you first activate it supposed to happen ?
First time I tried it it took me out of an inn, and put me in front of the city Gates.
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1122
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Project "Increased Terrain Distance"

Post by Nystul » Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:20 pm

No, terrain transition is the same as before. It is the heaviest shader performance-wise. But not sure why there are problems with a gpu of the 10x0 series... It should be strong enough easily. Mysterious...

Post Reply