NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Show off your mod creations or just a work in progress.
User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:25 pm

Ok, so everything seems to work
Attachments
SPRITES !.jpg
SPRITES !.jpg (410.31 KiB) Viewed 820 times
npcs.jpg
npcs.jpg (421.9 KiB) Viewed 820 times
menu.jpg
menu.jpg (248.65 KiB) Viewed 820 times
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:27 pm

It looks insane..
Attachments
Bushes.jpg
Bushes.jpg (498.61 KiB) Viewed 819 times
Load.jpg
Load.jpg (314.4 KiB) Viewed 819 times
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:28 pm

Something is happening with the hanging light prites tho...
I went thru the folder, didn't find any lights in the texture pack, only in dungeons so far, and not all lights do it, just some hanging one (not all).
And its using 95% of my mem :D
Got a crash too
Attachments
Light.jpg
Light.jpg (523.59 KiB) Viewed 818 times
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:46 pm

Yeah, I can't go into scourge barrow, thats the crash..
Seems to be ram related..
Dump says 95%........
Thats alot of mem :D
So should I take the npcs out and see what happens ?
Im thinking its the animated sprites..
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:13 pm

Yep, its literally using all my memory...
So I'm thinking the big dungeons, its trying to load all the monsters, thats the crash..
They look too good man :lol:
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by King of Worms » Sat Dec 23, 2017 11:36 pm

Midknightprince wrote:Yep, its literally using all my memory...
So I'm thinking the big dungeons, its trying to load all the monsters, thats the crash..
They look too good man :lol:
Yes It desacrates the memory I dont know why, the pack is 1gb... I know it has to do something with the resolution of the sprites and that sucks :/ And In scourg barrow you get the bonus of upscaled necromancers, that will just rape your memory real good :X I already made 50% resolution pack of the NPCs, it works better... this will need some more work, as it is stated in the readme etc.

And I dont think it should be only about me reducing the resolution back to stone age, its also about the way engine handles those sprites... that needs to change. Its not possible that a bunch of 200kb sprites can eat up 10s of gigs of ram.

But this was never the priority at this stage of development, and we also just started this whole modding endeavor, so lets give it all some time :twisted: Thanks for screens, some look kick ass... Im sure we will get this working sooner than later anyway

PS: That light seems like example of the atlas overflow... :evil: we really pioneering this sh1t here now, so as Ive said, lets give it some more time ;)

PSS: And yes, the monsters are called EXPERIMANTAL + in readme it states : "03 - NPC - Monsters & Corpses" - substantionally increases the RAM / VRAM Usage! Testing purposes only! Early version! ...so thats the 1st thing to remove .))

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:02 am

Ok, took all the npc enemies & corpses out..
Seems to work fine, and I found the lights you added, took them out too for now (only3)
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:04 am

I think its loading all the sprites for each enemy seperatly..?
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 642
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by King of Worms » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:19 am

I dont think those lights need to be removed or that the removal will help anything :) I really dont have a clue how it works under the hood, all I know is that its limited by the resolution and not by the actual size in Mb... and that its because the sprites are merged in a atlases, which have a limited resolution. And if that total resolution is exceeded, it creates artefacts like the lights... but there are different rules for NPC flats, some flats are merged in superatlases bla bla bla anyway, thats not up to me to even think about :P As Ive said, this will be dealt with in a future, as there was no need for even thinking about this prior to the date we started to work on the sprites...
Last edited by King of Worms on Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 677
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: NPC Flats - Waifu upscaling

Post by Midknightprince » Sun Dec 24, 2017 12:23 am

The necromancers wear red in scourge barrow, your guys are in black, must change them somewhere else, my guys are still the old ones..
I have everything but the npc monsters/corpses, and everytime I put a light flat in my folder it messes lights up, same thing happend with some torch textures, and the one for those globe lights in the other pack..
Small dungeons seemed to work ok with them, its when I went into the big ones with the monsters in...
Taking them out my ram is at like 2.5 gigs...
Check out my YouTube Channel!

Post Reply