Tools used for 3D assets?

Discuss modding questions and implementation details.
Samuel_Beard

Tools used for 3D assets?

Post by Samuel_Beard »

(Disclaimer: I'm not entirely sure whether this belongs here but I don't know where else to post. I'm just looking for guidance, so don't kill me, please...)

Hello, I'm Samuel and I'm new here and I'd like to ask some basic questions to look into to help me work here some day. Little background first: I'm an aspiring future 3D modeler and programmer and would very much like to see Daggerfall become modded into 3D for people like me.

I see that there were people converting the game for 3D. The background assets such as shelves, tables and benches seems to be taken care of by someone so I guess I'll not be working on that? I was specifically enchanted by rhymer's work but he/she seems to not be so active on converting NPCs into 3D? More horrifying is the fact of reading him/her stopping his/her work on the characters so I was wondering if I could pick up on that area? I have Daggerfall Unity installed and I will be downloading the mods and all to see what's missing in terms of what I want to see in the game.

Now, I'd like to know what tools they were using or what tools this community uses for 3D primarily so I could look into it and start studying/working in the future. My conversion priority being what NPCs have made it into the latest Unity build. I'd like to know what software I should be looking to model, texture and rig to recreate NPCs in the style of this: http://pic.fullrest.ru/XTnbTiQz.gif -- In case this is the agreed style this community is going for in terms of 3D characters.

I'd also like to know where to look into these NPC rigs, this made me so excited https://forums.dfworkshop.net/download/file.php?id=722 -- and would like to see free model creation/rig software to make my work easier and more efficient.