Question: Meandering behavior for enemies

Discuss modding questions and implementation details.
imsobadatnicknames

Question: Meandering behavior for enemies

Post by imsobadatnicknames »

Something I noticed a while ago is that when enemies don't have anything to fight (like when they're assigned to the player team and there's no other enemies around to make them go aggro) they just stand completely still.

I'm a total noob to Unity and C# in general, so idek if this is a dumb question but... would it be possible to make a mod that takes the AI that makes commoners in towns walk around aimlessly and apply it to enemy entities when there's nothing triggering their aggression?

Of course... I'm not asking anyone to make this or even explain to me how to make this, and I wouldn't blame anyone for thinking it's a waste of time, as the current system works fine as is and this behavior is something the average player will probably never notice or care about.

Tbqh the only reason I care about it is kinda niche and dumb, I just think adding meandering behavior to enemies would improve my Populated Buildings mod a bit, as the NPCs created with it currently just kinda awkwardly stand around, and walking around would make it seem like they're going about their day. Also it would probably improve my Ghaksha companion mod (and by extension the two other companion mods Knightwalker41 has made based on its code), as currently when companions from these mods are with you in a dungeon and you clear out all nearby enemies they just awkwardly stand in one place until the mod tells them to teleport closer to you.
Released mods: https://www.nexusmods.com/users/5141135 ... files&BH=0
Daggerfall isn't the only ridiculously intrincate fantasy world simulator with the initials DF that I make mods for: http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=177071.0

l3lessed

Re: Question: Meandering behavior for enemies

Post by l3lessed »