Transport menu

Discuss coding questions, pull requests, and implementation details.
Hazelnut

Transport menu

Post by Hazelnut »

Hi all, new to DFU development - see my forum intro post: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=646

As stated there I want see if I can contribute to DF Unity. Don't expect any great graphics, I'm a programmer who knows very litlle about 3d gfx programming and not an artist, modeller or animator. So for my first project I've decided to work on the transport menu since it's a couple of releases away on the roadmap and no one else appears to have started it. Got the basics working, T now brings up the UI image with all options unavailable (red) with just the exit button working.

I've seen the discussions about the horse graphics CFA file being found and DFU being able to read the format. I have concerns that using the original scheme of plonking an animated horse head at the bottom on the screen will look daft with mouselook, as it did with classic when mouselook was enabled. Since it's the default in DFU (and its not 1996) it's a bigger issue now. I think possibly restricting looking up and down when riding may be a simple solution. Anyone have any other thoughts on this?

Questions if anyone here knows the answers or can point me in the right direction:

1. How are the original game effects figured out? i.e. how movement speed is increased? Guestimates, or debug using DosBox? (is there a good guide to this anywhere I've missed)
2. Are all horses in DF identical statswise?
3. Does cart have any differences other than sound & graphics?
4. Any already existing uses of CFA animations in the codebase I could use as a reference?

Cheers,
H
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

Interkarma

Re: Transport menu

Post by Interkarma »

Hey Hazelnut, welcome to the forums :).