Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names [RESOLVED]

Bug topics that have been resolved.
Post Reply
User avatar
pango
Posts: 1156
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names [RESOLVED]

Post by pango » Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:09 pm

In a small town, I had to meet some cartographer, and people lead me to a residence called The Wickton Residence on the map, but it's called The Masterhouse Residence in info mode.

Moreover, I got a quest from a local tavern maiden to free her haunted residence, the Hearthwing Residence. And I suspect it's the same residence again, because people point in the same direction and when they "mark the location on my map", no new residence is identified. No residence looks haunted though.

Savegame in front of the said residence.
Attachments
SAVE114.zip
(179.94 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

jedidia
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names

Post by jedidia » Thu Dec 06, 2018 10:13 am

I can confirm that residences often pull double duty. I had just assumed it's been that way in classic (it's a long time ago...).

There's also a heavy preference for the L-shaped buildings. Every quest that is in a residence (as opposed to a shop) seems to pick the L-house. And if there's only one of those in a location, that one gets picked over and over again. I just went with it and assumed that the other buildings don't have interiors, but now that somebody more daggerfal-experienced brings this up, I might as well mention it.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 1156
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names

Post by pango » Sun May 12, 2019 8:32 pm

Could some of those issues be explained by buildingKey indexing?
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names

Post by Interkarma » Mon May 13, 2019 4:49 am

Building keys are unique within a location, and the exterior automap should only be considering discovered buildings beneath the current location. If that's not being done quite right, it could be the cause behind this. I'd have to review code again to see if that's what happening.

Multiple quests can also select the same target building, which I also believe can cause some name issue. This is something on my radar for 0.8 cycle.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4444
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Dev build/Linux: Residence can go by several names

Post by Interkarma » Mon May 20, 2019 9:26 am

I've merged a change that will filter quest buildings already assigned to another quest. Let's see how this one goes after next builds.

Post Reply