Visual Quest Editor

For all talk about quest development - creation, testing, and quest system.
JorisVanEijden

Visual Quest Editor

Post by JorisVanEijden »

I started playing with xNode today.

GraphPlay.png
GraphPlay.png (147 KiB) Viewed 2761 times

What do you think? Is this a viable way to create/edit quests?
Should I continue building on this?
Or are my efforts better spent elsewhere?

Firebrand

Re: Visual Quest Editor

Post by Firebrand »

Seems like a great idea :)

I think it could help visualize complex relations, thus favoring better quests 8-)

Jay_H

Post by Jay_H »

A big question behind this, I think, is if it motivates anyone to begin/continue writing quests. That'll be a good determinant to continue working or not.

I recuse myself from this discussion for reasons explained elsewhere :)

Hazelnut

Post by Hazelnut »

Personally I don't think it's worth it, but I'm a programmer who is very used to writing text to make stuff happen so I'm not really the target audience either so I'll follow Jay's lead on this one. :)

I also wonder if it would still be easy to parse and follow the diagram once a significantly complex quest is implemented?
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

JorisVanEijden

Post by JorisVanEijden »

I do see some advantages:
- no need to memorize all the syntax and verbs
- no need to guess or look up available monster types, spells, etc.
- access to additional "internal" properties for more fine grained control of quests
- limits you to constructions that work, meaning less experimenting with syntax
- more accessible to non-coders

And some disadvantages:
- Serializes to the json format you see in your savegame's QuestData.txt, not really readable.
- Tighter coupling to QuestMachine implementation means it needs to be maintained.
- Can quickly become a big spaghetti mess for more complicated quests.