Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

A curated forum for approved mods. Users are unable to create new topics in this forum but can reply to existing topics. Please message a moderator to have your mod moved into this forum area.
User avatar
Hazelnut
Posts: 1979
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Hazelnut » Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:12 pm

Hmm, you're running with the release build 0.10.12? I'll need to take a look at this, it may be the mod trying to read the region & locations before the systems have been fully initialised.

Has anyone successfully used TT with .12 or .13 DFU builds?
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

User avatar
Ralzar
Posts: 762
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:11 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Ralzar » Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:28 pm

I'm pretty sure I used tedious travel with 0.10.13 yesterday. Didn't notice anything wrong, but I did not use any ports.
My released mods

"I feel like Ralzar specifically wrote those mods for me and then said "Use them". Just so he could watch me die more."
-FuzzyBeanPlays

User avatar
Seferoth
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:45 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Seferoth » Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:58 pm

Hazelnut wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 1:12 pm
Hmm, you're running with the release build 0.10.12? I'll need to take a look at this, it may be the mod trying to read the region & locations before the systems have been fully initialised.

Has anyone successfully used TT with .12 or .13 DFU builds?
I have used TT with both and never have had any issues with it.
You can't have a nightmare if you never dream.

User avatar
Hazelnut
Posts: 1979
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Hazelnut » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:06 pm

That may be because you already had it generate the ports cache data before .12 was released.
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

BadLuckBurt
Posts: 296
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:30 pm

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by BadLuckBurt » Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:11 pm

Hazelnut wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 2:06 pm
That may be because you already had it generate the ports cache data before .12 was released.
I was using my own build of 0.10.12, the one with the terrain sampler changes but I don't think that should affect anything? I'm downloading the official 0.10.13 to see if it works there.

- edit

Using the official build and only activating Tedious Travel in the mods section works fine. It generated the port towns without a hitch. I'll look into it a bit more but I think it's just my stupidity, sorry folks.

User avatar
Ralzar
Posts: 762
Joined: Mon Oct 07, 2019 4:11 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Ralzar » Tue Dec 03, 2019 11:25 pm

So I just tested Tedious Travel with my mod Climate & Cloaks and I ran into a bug that turned out to happen also without my mod.

If you hit 0 Fatigue while using Tedious Travel you get the popup about falling to the ground. But this seems to cause some kind of object reference error. You get sort of stuck with the TT menu up, but unable to initiate fast travel. You have to press ESC to close the menu.
Then when you fast travel again, you can hit 0 Fatigue and just keep going without anything happening.

Example save with low fatigue:

Savegame


I solved this in my mod by simply causing damage each round you were awake and at 0 fatigue. Which usually just kills you while using tedious travel if you are going too fast.
My released mods

"I feel like Ralzar specifically wrote those mods for me and then said "Use them". Just so he could watch me die more."
-FuzzyBeanPlays

Jeoshua
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:25 am

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Jeoshua » Wed Dec 04, 2019 6:37 pm

I reported this to Ralzar after I experienced it. No offense to Ral meant but I don't really think killing you when I it happens is a proper fix. Even when Tedious Travel and lack of Stamina work "properly", I find myself scrambling for the Interrupt button to stop the incessant "Falls over" message boxes.

Please, make TT just stop traveling when you have zero stamina or recieve damage. It's a quality of life thing.

User avatar
Seferoth
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:45 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Seferoth » Thu Dec 05, 2019 7:41 pm

I think tedious travel should allow Vampires to use travel during the day, you are not actually teleporting to place to place like in Classic, you could use Shield spell and occasional healing spells, regens and all sorts of things to manage travelling during day time. Now travelling(especially finding safe space) is nearly impossible with Vampire as you cannot even open your worldmap during the day to see where the closest safe place would be. You literally cannot do anything if during tedious travel morning arrives.
You can't have a nightmare if you never dream.

Jeoshua
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2019 7:25 am

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Jeoshua » Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:51 pm

But Seph, there is a Map button which lets you open the map to do just that. This isn't a glitch, it's working as intended. Vampires get damaged during the day. That's not wrong. The vanilla game kind of assumes you're hunkering down during the day, TT removes that abstraction, by design, and you have to seek shelter.

I had problems with TT myself until I started planning my trips better. Leave town at dawn, leaving for a place no more than 8 hours away, find an inn and sleep, repeat. Vamp travel would be different but the idea is the same. DO NOT SET UP A MULTIPLE DAY TRAVEL.

That being said, the falling over repeatedly thing I do consider a bug. Travel should at least be paused as soon as you pass out.

User avatar
Seferoth
Posts: 537
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 5:45 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Tedious Travel 0.4.2 (2019-10-16)

Post by Seferoth » Thu Dec 05, 2019 9:14 pm

Jeoshua wrote:
Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:51 pm
But Seph, there is a Map button which lets you open the map to do just that. This isn't a glitch, it's working as intended. Vampires get damaged during the day. That's not wrong. The vanilla game kind of assumes you're hunkering down during the day, TT removes that abstraction, by design, and you have to seek shelter.

I had problems with TT myself until I started planning my trips better. Leave town at dawn, leaving for a place no more than 8 hours away, find an inn and sleep, repeat. Vamp travel would be different but the idea is the same. DO NOT SET UP A MULTIPLE DAY TRAVEL.

That being said, the falling over repeatedly thing I do consider a bug. Travel should at least be paused as soon as you pass out.
What button? Only way to actually see where the towns and dungeons are is with travel map(and you cannot open it when it's day and you are a vampire). The regular map button only shows the local area where i am...right?
Edit: Also Tedious Travel is nothing more then sped up regular travel, there is no reason why you cannot do that as a vampire.
You can't have a nightmare if you never dream.

Post Reply