[MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

A curated forum for approved mods. Users are unable to create new topics in this forum but can reply to existing topics. Please message a moderator to have your mod moved into this forum area.
Post Reply
User avatar
MrFlibble
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by MrFlibble » Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:12 pm

King of Worms wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:51 pm
Its really good, that model should be used on the animated NPCs, all the daedras, dancers, smith, mages, animals, KoW, commoners... There it would be the most beneficial for overall quality increase. Can I send you the specific files so you can try those?
I just ran a few more tests for the flats. Here's a selection of 4x pre-rendered ones from that old official sprite showcase:
Image
Again, I had to re-saturate the colours using GIMP's Auto -> Color Enhance (legacy) option.

I also tried upping these to 8x by running the Faithful 2x model (I understand you're operating with 8x upscales as of now), but it takes a rather long time on CPU, during which the PC is practically unusable for any other processes. Here's that result of much waiting anyway (I had to apply Color Enhance twice on this one):
Image
King of Worms wrote:
Sun Mar 15, 2020 9:51 pm
So this would be great expansion to what is currently available. IT would make a great start. But we need smooth outlines for those.
I took some Mages Guild sprites from my earlier tests (sorry, no animations yet) and tried two methods of adding AA:

1. I selected the alpha channel, grew the selection by 1 and used GIMP's anti-aliasing tool on the selection. I think it didn't work.
Image
2. Selected the alpha channel, grew by 1 and applied Gaussian blur at 0.5 pixel radius
Image
Other methods I tried were even less successful. Here's the unaltered upscale of the same w/ background colour if you need it:
Image
(yup, I know the girl's face is creepy)

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow (CZ)
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by King of Worms » Mon Mar 16, 2020 9:36 pm

Hi, that 8x is really nice! And thats exactly the type of npcs which would benefit the most.

Ad the mages u posted - I have hd version of them, but the lady with a ball. Ive realized most of the mages are already done.

User avatar
MrFlibble
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by MrFlibble » Tue Mar 17, 2020 12:37 pm

I had an idea about the outlines. What if I upload the upscales and the masks separately, and you get the AA on the edges the right way?

Here's some temple people (I did no colour adjustments this time, but fixed pixel bleeding on the waving lady):
Image
Image

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow (CZ)
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by King of Worms » Tue Mar 17, 2020 2:21 pm

Hi, very nice results!

Im just not sure on how to combine the alpha and the images, I tried it one time in the past and failed miserably.

I can make the rough edges of the sprite use AA in the imagemagic and automate it using TinyTask. So if I get sprites with alpha background in PNG, I can add the AA.

To be more specific on the types of sprites Id like to see the most:
Archive
175
176
177 (2,3,5)
178
179
180 (but they might not be ingame yet)
181 (4 is done by me in hd)
182_47, 48, 49, 50

Than maybe the commoners. 381 to 398 and 451 to 456

User avatar
MrFlibble
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by MrFlibble » Tue Mar 17, 2020 4:40 pm

King of Worms wrote:
Tue Mar 17, 2020 2:21 pm
I can make the rough edges of the sprite use AA in the imagemagic and automate it using TinyTask. So if I get sprites with alpha background in PNG, I can add the AA.
Alright, let's try this with the above (I added alpha and Color Enhance):
Image
Also here's a test of two standing villagers (also w/ Color Enhance):
Image

User avatar
MasonFace
Posts: 410
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:28 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by MasonFace » Tue Mar 17, 2020 5:04 pm

Man, those all look exceptional! These are the best results on these types of sprites I've seen up to this point. Great job!

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow (CZ)
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by King of Worms » Tue Mar 17, 2020 6:05 pm

Those are some good results, I can work with that and add the AA.
But I will need it all the images in the separated respective files for a final job. Like they come from Daggerfall imaging.

That program needs a update, so it exports the files with proper names, not a "folder 101" and 1-0, 2-0, 3-0 files..

Heres with the AA
ZiX6TFo.png
ZiX6TFo.png (685.35 KiB) Viewed 127 times

User avatar
MrFlibble
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:43 am

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by MrFlibble » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:36 pm

Hey, sorry for not replying sooner, I was busy with RL stuff. Those sprites with antialiased edges look really good, what function in ImageMagick do you use? (or is it a set of routines?)

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 3041
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow (CZ)
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Pure Vanilla Extract - Help Wanted!

Post by King of Worms » Fri Mar 27, 2020 4:27 pm

MrFlibble wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:36 pm
Hey, sorry for not replying sooner, I was busy with RL stuff. Those sprites with antialiased edges look really good, what function in ImageMagick do you use? (or is it a set of routines?)
No worries :)

Its a plugin for paint.net - and its really wonderful for the AI upscalling needs.

Its part of this free effects pack https://forums.getpaint.net/topic/16643 ... 014-05-04/

Only issue is no automatization :) But what I was able to do was to download a external small utility TinyTask.. and it records all mouse movement and keyboard commands, than u just leave it run on loop automatically for a while. Its NOT user friendly :X Some better tool might exist

Post Reply