Ironman and Ironman Game Systems v0.2.4 (12/08/2019)

A curated forum for approved mods. Users are unable to create new topics in this forum but can reply to existing topics. Please message a moderator to have your mod moved into this forum area.
Post Reply
User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2967
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by Jay_H » Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:59 am

I think it overwrote one of my normal saves!

AFAIK it was Save0, and I'm assuming Ironman overwrote it some way. Hard coding? My old Testman character no longer exists.

DFIronman
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:48 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by DFIronman » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:40 am

Jay_H wrote:
Sun Aug 25, 2019 6:59 am
I think it overwrote one of my normal saves!

AFAIK it was Save0, and I'm assuming Ironman overwrote it some way. Hard coding? My old Testman character no longer exists.
Yikes! Sorry about that. It might have been where your save was deleted and then a new version was saved over it? I haven't run into the issue of losing any saves yet. I don't even know how it would happen otherwise because it uses the same method that Daggerfall Unity uses to save games. Just in case, I changed how saves were deleted a bit and am uploading the new version now.

Also, you'll automatically save on exit/alt-f4/killing the task as well! Took a little while to figure out how to do it properly, but it seems to work well. Let me know if you run into any issues (especially a corrupted save, or lack of a save on exit). Thanks for your testing and feedback!

Edit: I'm pretty sure I know how that save was deleted. v0.1.1 fixes that (if you downloaded this last night, make sure to download it again for a minor update). Additionally, I added a redundant check to confirm the character name when deleting any save to prevent this from ever happening in the future. Thank you for catching this and, again, sorry about that!

DFIronman
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:48 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by DFIronman » Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:30 pm

What about preventing opening any menus when enemies are nearby (and preventing quitting as well)? This would create a serious amount of tension because the player is forced to act, rather than gather their thoughts. It would also prevent players from being able to change equipment in combat (if you can change equipment in combat - I don't remember and can't test right now). I should probably allow the Spellbook and Use Magic Item windows, and make it so the game is unpaused while either window is open, if that's even possible.

Maybe allow an input box for people who -really- need to quit? Force them to type out a long, case-sensitive, random, line like, "Amariel Shlio stellar Stegnar imperial Gold"? The downside is that if they see an Ancient Vampire or something that hasn't detected them, they could go back and load an earlier save or something along that line - but you could just be SHIFT-loading all along if you wanted to 'cheat' anyway.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2967
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by Jay_H » Mon Aug 26, 2019 1:54 pm

Excellent updates. I hesitate on making the game un-pauseable when enemies are nearby; real life sometimes interferes in the worst way, and when an angry spouse/crying child is yelling at you, the first thing you want to be able to do is pause everything :lol: I think it's fine as it is. Like you said before, if someone really wants to circumvent the system, they can, but then why install it in the first place? :P

DFIronman
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:48 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by DFIronman » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:48 pm

Haha true. Since I already invested some time in it, I'll probably make it optional either at the start of the game or as a mod setting. Would you mind moving this to Released Mods?

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2967
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by Jay_H » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:49 pm

Done and done!

DFIronman
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:48 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by DFIronman » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:50 pm

Haha that was fast. Thanks!

User avatar
Midknightprince
Posts: 1155
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:51 am
Location: San Antonio TX
Contact:

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by Midknightprince » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:27 pm

If you fast travel WITH a disease using Tedious Travel, you will be dead on arrival without even knowing you have it..
So don't use Tedious unless you're sure, or bye bye save..
Check out my YouTube Channel!

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2967
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by Jay_H » Tue Aug 27, 2019 8:10 pm

I've found that to be true a lot without Tedious Travel. Disease and travel are ridiculously risky in Daggerfall... Certainly dangerous enough for Ironman :lol:

DFIronman
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2019 12:48 am

Re: [MOD] Ironman

Post by DFIronman » Wed Aug 28, 2019 5:36 am

Well, in the vanilla game, if you travel somewhere with a disease, you'll arrive and die instantly as well. The behavior is essentially the same, right?

Edit: Just realized that's basically what Jay said. Might want to pick up disease immunity on your Ironman characters!

Post Reply