Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name [RESOLVED]

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Nystul »

please read my post carefully, since I edited it a bit to make it more clear
Ferital wrote: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:06 pm He also gives the town, _healer_ is the variable holding the healer's name, while ___healer_ is the town where she/he is located.
for the dialog option to be revealed it does not matter that he gives town at all - the important thing is that he gives _healer_

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Nystul »

Ferital wrote: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:04 pm Weird... For info, I'm using last master revision, with no mods.

Here is a screen of what I'm getting:
Bug A0C00Y11.PNG

Here is the savegame I used to test:
SAVE12.7z
looking into the save
for your save it only shows up in the "tell me about" section - comparing to my save now

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Ferital »

Nystul wrote: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:13 pm for your save it only shows up in the "tell me about" section - comparing to my save now
It does not, the name you saw in "Tell me about" is the cousin's name.

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Nystul »

you are right
ok I can reproduce now - looking into it
first guess is that quest popups might not correctly trigger dialog linked resource reveal (not updating the isAvailableForDialog flag as you assumed)

sry, that it took me so long to understand the issue

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Ferital »

Nystul wrote: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:20 pm you are right
ok I can reproduce now - looking into it
first guess is that quest popups might not correctly trigger dialog linked resource reveal (not updating the isAvailableForDialog flag as you assumed)

sry, that it took me so long to understand the issue
Because I wasn't very clear about it, sorry :)

BansheeXYZ
Posts: 555
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by BansheeXYZ »

There's a thread about this quest in the resolved section
viewtopic.php?t=1062

It sounds like the same issue Ferital is describing?

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Nystul »

BansheeXYZ wrote: Tue Mar 12, 2019 2:39 pm There's a thread about this quest in the resolved section
viewtopic.php?t=1062

It sounds like the same issue Ferital is describing?
this was a null-pointer exception
this problem is indeed a separate one

I think I have a fix for it, Ferital you can try it out:
just change line 167 in Message.cs to this (explicitely tell macro expanding to reveal dialog links):

Code: Select all

	macroHelper.ExpandQuestMessage(ParentQuest, ref tokens, true);
the thing is: we will have to test if this change breaks other quests - I hope not


update:
I think we will have to check if the resource's name is resolved and only reveal it then, more precisely e.g.:
  • _healer_ should reveal the dialog link
  • ___healer_ should not reveal it
my hotfix reveals in both cases... which is not optimal

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Ferital »

It works, thanks Nystul! :)

I'll try to do a bunch of other merchant/commoner's quests to check if it breaks things or not.

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1501
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Nystul »

As master of edits and updates to existing posts of mine, I extended my previous post to highlight a limitation of this hotfix - pls take a look above ;)

update ( :D ): ah that's quite easy to implement macro.type is our friend

the additional code change: line 95 in QuestMacroHelper.cs:

Code: Select all

if (revealDialogLinks && macro.type == MacroTypes.NameMacro1)

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: Quest a0c00y11 - sick NPC has wrong/different name

Post by Ferital »

I see. I don't quite understand this part of DFU code for now, as I started to contribute to DFU in general pretty recently...

Locked