Page 2 of 2

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:30 am
by Nystul
Interkarma wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:35 am It could be a regression of some kind in discovery system. There have been a few of these after a recent code change I didn't test thoroughly enough before alpha.

I'll make a note of this topic in issues, thanks. :)
Altought I think recent changes affected building discovery, and should not affect location (dungeon) discovery - I will take a look as well

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 6:55 am
by Interkarma
Aye, it might be unrelated. I just wanted to note it in case, and so I didn't lose track of it. :)

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 7:28 am
by Teralitha
MonoRena667 wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:00 am Please get back to me when you figure out what the issue is with the quest logic. Thanks for not brushing it off like I thought you were going to. But I know you needed to see the save file anyway since this game is unpredictable like that.
You must be new here. Not to worry, these guys are relentlessly thorough and attentive.

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:53 pm
by MonoRena667
I can see that now. I just have bad experience with people sometimes so was expecting them to be really arrogant and dismissive, so glad I was wrong.

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:55 pm
by mikeprichard
Some of us goons in the community can be a bit salty at times (I include myself there), but all of the developers here are incredibly patient and helpful - it's a really unique and refreshing little slice of the gaming internet. Welcome!

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:56 pm
by MonoRena667
mikeprichard wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:55 pm Some of us goons in the community can be a bit salty at times (I include myself there), but all of the developers here are incredibly patient and helpful - it's a really unique and refreshing little slice of the gaming internet. Welcome!
I just want this game to develop to it's full potential with as few bugs as possible really.

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sun Aug 04, 2019 9:50 am
by mikeprichard
MonoRena667 wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 2:56 pm I just want this game to develop to it's full potential with as few bugs as possible really.
That's the idea. The developers are continuing to squash bugs like mad, so it's happening.

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:05 pm
by Nystul
took a look at this - for some reason the reveal location action never fires
maybe the quest tombstoning happens too fast here?

Re: Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Mon Aug 05, 2019 10:26 pm
by Interkarma
Thank you for taking a look Nystul! Good to know it's not looking related. I'll dive into this one when I can.

Will move to Questing Bug Reports so I don't lose track of it.

Re: [B0C00Y05] Was given map to location, but no map or location was added to world map.

Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:20 am
by JorisVanEijden
This is because Tipton's decompiler doesn't take execution order into account.

My decompiler: https://stellargames.github.io/Quester/#B0C00Y05

Code: Select all

9: >> If (s_mondead and s_qgclicked): set s_pcgetsgold
10: s_pcgetsgold => QuestSuccess ()
11: >> If (s_map and s_pcgetsgold): set s_0000374e
12: s_0000374e => AddLocationToMap (l_qgenemy) [Msg 1080]
13: s_pcgetsgold => EndQuest ()
TEMPLATE decompiler:

Code: Select all

_pcgetsgold_ task:
	when _mondead_ and _qgclicked_ 
	give pc nothing 
	end quest 

variable _map_
variable _nomap_
_S.07_ task:
	when _map_ and _pcgetsgold_ 
	reveal _newdung_ saying 1080 
As you can see it lumped lines 10 and 13 together, because they depend on the same state. But that prevents line 11 and 12 (_S.07_ in template) from ever running.

I created a workaround in PR https://github.com/Interkarma/daggerfal ... /pull/1481