0.10.11 - Bank house for sale list not available when loading interior save [RESOLVED 0.10.17]

User avatar
Doctor3d
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:51 am

0.10.11 - Bank house for sale list not available when loading interior save [RESOLVED 0.10.17]

Post by Doctor3d »

Steps to reproduce bug:

1. Go into a bank into any town with houses for sale.
2. Click to buy a house and look at the available houses (You Don't have to buy one)
3. Close out of the banking menu and save the game
4. Reload the save
5. That bank will no longer have any houses for sale - permanently as far as I can tell.

This only happens if you save the game from within the bank. So long as you're not in a bank when you save the game, you can avoid this.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 2551
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by pango »

Problem reproduced.
To be precise, if you load a game that bring you directly inside a bank, the banker will have no house for sale until you leave then reenter the bank.
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
Doctor3d
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:51 am

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by Doctor3d »

pango wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 2:41 pm Problem reproduced.
To be precise, if you load a game that bring you directly inside a bank, the banker will have no house for sale until you leave then reenter the bank.
For me - even when I leave and re-enter the bank, the banker still says no houses are available. Once this bug happens, it's apparently permanent on the save file (at least in all cases of when i've tested it has)

User avatar
pango
Posts: 2551
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by pango »

That's strange.
Just in case it was some patch I'm using, I tested with master branch, and then with 0.10.11 release, and I always get the same behavior...

Code: Select all

buildingDirectory = GameManager.Instance.StreamingWorld.GetCurrentBuildingDirectory();
is null because StreamingWorld.currentPlayerLocationObject is also null.
Going outside completes StreamingWorld initialization and everything works fine again.

Maybe something specific to the bank you're testing with? I have no idea
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
Doctor3d
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:51 am

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by Doctor3d »

You're absolutely right..I am sorry for the confusion. I have no idea why it happened like that the last few times I tried it. When I posted the report - I am quite sure I went in over and over and he always had that message. But, anyway I just turned the game on again and left the bank and came back in and it now loads it just like you describe.

User avatar
Hazelnut
Posts: 2390
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:46 pm
Contact:

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by Hazelnut »

This is not the only aspect of the game where this is an issue, but most are fairly unimportant so most people don't notice. In fact I cannot even remember what other circumstances lead to this kind of behaviour where for something to work as expected when loading an inside save, a player needs to exit and re-enter the building. It's a consequence of not having loaded the exterior world which means some data is not available until you exit / re-enter, i.e. building data, since it's populated as the town exterior is laid out.
See my mod code for examples of how to change various aspects of DFU: https://github.com/ajrb/dfunity-mods

User avatar
pango
Posts: 2551
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BUG: Issue with Bank House List

Post by pango »

Hazelnut wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 6:07 pm In fact I cannot even remember what other circumstances lead to this kind of behaviour where for something to work as expected when loading an inside save, a player needs to exit and re-enter the building.
Maybe this, or a very similar situation in a fighters guild

Sadly this time we can't just skip some code if currentPlayerLocationObject is not set
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 5761
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: 0.10.11 - Bank house for sale list not available when loading interior save

Post by Interkarma »

I think we can stop suppressing world on loading interior saves at this point. Load speed has increased quite a bit from the early days when I felt this was necessary. This is a minor change, but I'll need to regression test a bit though.

Edit: Just turning off world suppression doesn't fix this in any case. Will take a closer look when I can. Workaround in the interim is just to exit and re-enter building.

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: 0.10.11 - Bank house for sale list not available when loading interior save

Post by Ferital »

Interkarma wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:34 pm I think we can stop suppressing world on loading interior saves at this point. Load speed has increased quite a bit from the early days when I felt this was necessary. This is a minor change, but I'll need to regression test a bit though.
I agree, and this PR should speed up location load time further.

User avatar
Ferital
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 8:01 am

Re: 0.10.11 - Bank house for sale list not available when loading interior save

Post by Ferital »

Interkarma wrote: Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:34 pm Edit: Just turning off world suppression doesn't fix this in any case. Will take a closer look when I can. Workaround in the interim is just to exit and re-enter building.
I also disabled world suppression and it fixed the issue, so I opened a dedicated PR.

Locked