New to Daggerfall Unity, a few questions

Discuss Daggerfall Unity and Daggerfall Tools for Unity.
mkontrov

New to Daggerfall Unity, a few questions

Post by mkontrov »

So I just found about this today and what an amazing project! Hats off to all the devs. I was a bit confused at a couple points though and wanted to give some feedback, though not bugs per se.

I booted up the game and started as a spellsword but there were no default spells. Every character I've ever started in Daggerfall seems to have a few spells so that was odd to me (I would have thought a spellsword would at least have shock).

As I proceeded around Privateer's Hold I noticed a few strange things. Mostly notably enemy placement seemed off in a few spots (rats where there should be archers) and the loot was off the charts (+11 Elven breastplate, lots of +3 or +4 armor). I'm actually pretty new to Daggerfall in general but I've run PH a good dozen or more times now and this playthrough didn't really match any others in those two regards. I didn't see anything about item drops still being a WIP on the roadmap so I was a bit confused. Anyone else have a similar experience?

Interkarma

Re: New to Daggerfall Unity, a few questions

Post by Interkarma »

Welcome to the forums. :)

Magic is still in progress and new characters won't be granted default spells until this is closer to completion. However, you can use the spellmaker to create custom spells with the magic system while it's under development. Just join the Mages Guild and construct spells the usual way. About 60% of magic effects are currently available for the spellmaker. Potions, magic items, and the ability to buy spells are still in progress on the roadmap. I'm aiming for 100% of spell effects by end of August, then building out remaining features.