Resetting dungeon maps

Discuss Daggerfall Unity and Daggerfall Tools for Unity.
Post Reply
Ommamar
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:08 am

Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Ommamar » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:48 am

I am working my way through the main quest line one of the things I noticed is that at certain points I am entering dungeons that I had already been through but had to return as part of the quest advancement. The majority of the map is uncovered making finding the quest item/person very challenging as I couldn't recall the exact path and since it looked like I had been everywhere I ended up using the drop a coin/item method to try to figure out what paths I had taken. Is there anyway these big main quests dungeons could be reset after completing each step of the quest? I thought maybe with no mods it wouldn't be uncovered but it still seemed to be all uncovered.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2897
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Jay_H » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:53 am

You can use the console command "map_hideall" to start the map over again.

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Nystul » Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:42 am

you can change the number of dungeons for which the map info is remembered in the settings.ini file:
in the [Map] section there is the value "AutomapNumberOfDungeons" - set this to 0 to get vanilla df behavior (so when leaving dungeons the info is cleared)

another option is to edit the AutomapData.txt file and delete the entry for the dungeon of interest. afterwards when loading the savegame the dungeon should be undiscovered

Ommamar
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:08 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Ommamar » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:33 pm

Jay_H wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:53 am
You can use the console command "map_hideall" to start the map over again.
Good to know thanks.
Nystul wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 6:42 am
you can change the number of dungeons for which the map info is remembered in the settings.ini file:
in the [Map] section there is the value "AutomapNumberOfDungeons" - set this to 0 to get vanilla df behavior (so when leaving dungeons the info is cleared)

another option is to edit the AutomapData.txt file and delete the entry for the dungeon of interest. afterwards when loading the savegame the dungeon should be undiscovered
How will that effect the quest progression? A couple of steps are tied into finding an item/npc in the bowels of a dungeon. If you remove the dungeon information marking it as undiscovered does that also remove the steps you had taken in the dungeon that you are required to go back to?

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Nystul » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:36 pm

Ommamar wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:33 pm
How will that effect the quest progression? A couple of steps are tied into finding an item/npc in the bowels of a dungeon. If you remove the dungeon information marking it as undiscovered does that also remove the steps you had taken in the dungeon that you are required to go back to?
it would remove the knowledge of the map but not state like switches - you would wake up as if you have forgotten everything, I would not advice to do it while inside the dungeon though since it could be hard to find your way out then ;)

Ommamar
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:08 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Ommamar » Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:51 pm

Nystul wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:36 pm
Ommamar wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:33 pm
How will that effect the quest progression? A couple of steps are tied into finding an item/npc in the bowels of a dungeon. If you remove the dungeon information marking it as undiscovered does that also remove the steps you had taken in the dungeon that you are required to go back to?
it would remove the knowledge of the map but not state like switches - you would wake up as if you have forgotten everything, I would not advice to do it while inside the dungeon though since it could be hard to find your way out then ;)
That could be important as I have found some dungeons that you have to find a switch to open a hatch, gate or a moving wall that will open one way and block another, by blocking the way you remove access to that switch. So I would think that if the switch states are retained you might be making it difficult to find the needed location where the item/person is.

User avatar
Nystul
Posts: 1387
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:31 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Nystul » Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:36 pm

No you misunderstood, as soon as you leave dungeon, state of switches etc. resets

Map discovery is not linked to state in any way

There is a persistent dungeons mod that does that

Ommamar
Posts: 445
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 3:08 am

Re: Resetting dungeon maps

Post by Ommamar » Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:37 pm

Nystul wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:36 pm
No you misunderstood, as soon as you leave dungeon, state of switches etc. resets

Map discovery is not linked to state in any way

There is a persistent dungeons mod that does that
Thanks for clarifying! I thought you where saying the switches in the dungeon remained the same after you had left the dungeon.

Post Reply