Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4838
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post by Interkarma » Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:04 am

BansheeXYZ wrote:
Mon Jul 01, 2019 2:39 am
Seems Pango has made some recent bugfixes for this. Any chance we could get some test builds to see if it works on all hardware? I use Intel graphics and get the seams badly, others seem to be getting them on certain AMD and Intel cards.
I'm dropping new builds on Friday with this change merged. Hopefully it helps, but from Pango's description of the problem it may not be so easily resolved in this case. Let us know how you go with next builds.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 1417
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post by pango » Sun Jul 21, 2019 8:38 pm

I found this reading interesting, pointing the problem to fmod() usage:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/147 ... s-aliasing
i'm not sure how useful it is though, as UNITY_SAMPLE_TEX2DARRAY* have no variant that takes derivatives.
(but maybe it's about the "math" seams?)

On an old Radeon HD 3450, I managed to fix (hide?) the seams by replacing

Code: Select all

float2 uv = fmod(unwrappedUV, 1.0);
with

Code: Select all

float2 uv = fmod(unwrappedUV + 1.0 / _TilemapDim, 1.0);
But that feels like black magic... Also, this fix only works for that card; All other cards start displaying seams :(
Last edited by pango on Thu Jul 25, 2019 6:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

Teralitha
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:44 pm

Re: Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post by Teralitha » Mon Jul 22, 2019 2:28 am

AMD Radeon RX 570 here. No mods. I also see these lines on the ground, but I didnt think anything of them. Gameplay is more important to me.

Mummelpuffin
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2019 4:35 am

Re: Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post by Mummelpuffin » Sun Aug 18, 2019 4:59 am

Just gonna pop in and necro this to confirm that this is occurring on my rx580 on 0.10.4.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 1417
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Invisible grid in ground textures in cities

Post by pango » Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:04 am

I know, it's not gone on Intel and AMD :(

For reference I came across this, with more ideas of stuff to try: https://gamedev.stackexchange.com/quest ... ured-cubes

This looks a lot like what we're facing, but it's unclear how it's fixed. A similar trick to the one I used for my old card (add an offset to uv) is mentioned: https://forums.torque3d.org/viewtopic.php?t=231
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

Post Reply