Where is Real Grass 2.31

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
Post Reply
johnwax
Posts: 95
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2018 8:09 pm

Where is Real Grass 2.31

Post by johnwax » Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:03 pm

I understand ver 2.31 for Real Grass has been released. I run Win x32 with a quad 13.4 gb total cpu and 8 gb ram. Using 2.0 crashes when I try to load an outside save or try to go outside after loading an inside save. (Sometimes the game grunts a lot trying to load, before it crashes). I'm hoping that 2.31 will help, but I can't find it. Anyone know where I can download?

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4130
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Where is Real Grass 2.31

Post by Interkarma » Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:56 pm

It's in the Real Grass topic in Released Mods. :)

https://forums.dfworkshop.net/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=964

By the way - you claim to have 8GB of RAM on a 32-bit Windows platform, but 32-bit Windows can only address up to 4GB RAM. If your system is actually addressing all 8GB, then you have 64-bit Windows.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 886
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Where is Real Grass 2.31

Post by pango » Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:36 pm

Interkarma wrote:
Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:56 pm
By the way - you claim to have 8GB of RAM on a 32-bit Windows platform, but 32-bit Windows can only address up to 4GB RAM. If your system is actually addressing all 8GB, then you have 64-bit Windows.
Oh my, I was about to say that thanks to PAE the limitation is in fact 64GB, but for all customer grade version of Windows it seems to be the case... I'm spoiled by Linux ;)
Anyway, the limit available to a single process on a 32bit system is indeed 4GB (usually slightly less)
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

Narf the Mouse
Posts: 741
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2015 6:32 pm

Re: Where is Real Grass 2.31

Post by Narf the Mouse » Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:34 pm

pango wrote:
Sun Dec 16, 2018 9:36 pm
Interkarma wrote:
Sun Dec 16, 2018 8:56 pm
By the way - you claim to have 8GB of RAM on a 32-bit Windows platform, but 32-bit Windows can only address up to 4GB RAM. If your system is actually addressing all 8GB, then you have 64-bit Windows.
Oh my, I was about to say that thanks to PAE the limitation is in fact 64GB, but for all customer grade version of Windows it seems to be the case... I'm spoiled by Linux ;)
Anyway, the limit available to a single process on a 32bit system is indeed 4GB (usually slightly less)
You can effectively increase your RAM on 32-bit Windows. Some RAMDisk software can address the remaining memory, even if Windows can't; you then move your swap file onto your new RAMDisk. This still doesn't increase the 4GB limit for a single process, though, and any program which has to swap from RAMDisk <-> RAM will still be slowed down. Just not nearly as much.

Note: I did this, years back, on a dual-boot system.
Previous experience tells me it's very easy to misunderstand the tone, intent, or meaning of what I've posted. If you have questions, ask.

Post Reply