Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
Post Reply
ruthan
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:28 pm

Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by ruthan » Tue Aug 06, 2019 1:05 pm

Hello,
im trying to play mod on this machine:
https://gpd.hk/gdpwin2

It has only 1280x720 resolution, but problem is that mod configuration windows is too big for that and its not even always on the top - or doesnt has such option, so i cant link on some ok button, because its under Windows 10 start bar.

I thing that some scrollbar or windows scaling has to be implemented. :(

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4832
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by Interkarma » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:20 pm

That's a cool device! :) The Daggerfall Unity UI can easily scale down to resolutions lower than this device is offering. For example, here's the mod manager UI running in a 640x480 window. All of the controls are present.

Spoiler!
modmanager-640x480.jpg
modmanager-640x480.jpg (125.13 KiB) Viewed 161 times

There's no OK button on the mod manager window. Once you're done managing mods, you can just hit "Save & Close", or cancel using Escape or the "<Options" text at top-left to return to previous window.

I'm not sure why the taskbar is appearing over the game window. Is this obscuring the "Save & Close" button? As long as game is set to 1280x720 with fullscreen enabled, it should appear over all other windows. I haven't encountered this one before.

ruthan
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by ruthan » Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:38 pm

Play button is not visible and under it is even close button, just add scrollbar.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4832
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by Interkarma » Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:43 pm

ruthan wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:38 pm
Play button is not visible and under it is even close button, just add scrollbar.
A scrollbar is not required for this UI, it simply fits to whatever resolution you set. It can scale down to much smaller than your device's capabilities, as demonstrated in my screenshot above. I would suggest that you have misconfigured display settings somehow. A screenshot would help diagnose.

ruthan
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by ruthan » Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:52 pm

I tested it on other computer here is fine, i didnt miscofigured anything.. Window is simply to big.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4832
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by Interkarma » Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:57 pm

The window will scale down to whatever size you wish. Here's another example at 320x249.

startup-small.jpg
startup-small.jpg (43.81 KiB) Viewed 137 times

A screenshot would help diagnose, but you seem unwilling to work with me towards a solution. Until that changes, there's nothing further I can add.

ruthan
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:28 pm

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by ruthan » Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:42 am

Ok, i tested it once more, problem is with Advanced menu, here close button is not visible.

But if try ALT+ENTER for fullscreen it is and also didnt discover that there is windows / fullscreen scaling button which is working too, but it would be nice if such thing could work out of box, because there is lots problems which are not counting with smaller resolutions and dont have fullscreen or resize possibilities.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 2698
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by Jay_H » Wed Aug 07, 2019 12:53 am

I know that you're having difficulties with this, but Interkarma previously requested:
Interkarma wrote:
Tue Aug 06, 2019 11:43 pm
I would suggest that you have misconfigured display settings somehow. A screenshot would help diagnose.
There isn't going to be any more progress on this topic until that happens.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4832
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Its not possible to Mod on GPD WIn 2 due too big config window.

Post by Interkarma » Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:08 am

It sounds like they might have found a solution by enabling fullscreen, which is definitely ideal. From what I can understand, the sum windowed mode dimensions (with header, frame, taskbar, etc.) are a bit too big for the overall display area. The window can be scaled down in size to much lower than the display area though, so it might be something else. That's why a screenshot of the whole desktop and how everything fits together would helpful, so I can see exactly what they see.

I'm trying my best, but it isn't always easy to visualise this stuff. :)

Post Reply