Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Curated user bug reports with enough information to reproduce issue. Moderators will move topics here from Help & Support once a bug is confirmed and enough information has been provided.
Post Reply
User avatar
SlainByWoodborne
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:24 am

Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by SlainByWoodborne » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:12 pm

I tried to search for this but the "Search..." feature ignores the word "floating" when I search "floating" or "floating loot".

In the save, there's a loot pile floating above the pedestal in the middle of this room in the Orsinium.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 1535
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by pango » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:55 pm

I was about to say it's a game-data related issue, since it happens all over the place and is something that may find a workaround in mods, but this one seems actually correctly placed in Daggerfall classic:
orsinium lootpile 2 - classic.jpg
orsinium lootpile - classic.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
SlainByWoodborne
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:24 am

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by SlainByWoodborne » Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:51 pm

Even though it appears that way in classic, it's odd to have a floating pile. My guess is that there is an offset variable for other piles that also affects this pile.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4893
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by Interkarma » Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:46 pm

This one is definitely more pronounced in DFU.

Loot containers such as this one receive an alignment step that takes a best-effort approach at aligning with surface below. The alignment logic is probably hitting an edge case that causes it to push upwards a bit instead. I'll take a look when I can.

Post Reply