Possibly a land texture bug

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
Post Reply
yabay
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:32 am
Location: Russia

Possibly a land texture bug

Post by yabay »

.
Last edited by yabay on Sat May 29, 2021 2:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4070
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by Jay_H »

Welcome to the forums :) This is a problem we typically see when video hardware doesn't meet the game's requirements. Here are benchmarks for your GPU.

User avatar
King of Worms
Posts: 4753
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 11:18 pm
Location: Scourg Barrow (CZ)
Contact:

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by King of Worms »

Jay_H wrote: Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:39 pm Welcome to the forums :) This is a problem we typically see when video hardware doesn't meet the game's requirements. Here are benchmarks for your GPU.
Its just 20x slower than gtx970 :D

User avatar
mikeprichard
Posts: 1037
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:49 pm

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by mikeprichard »

I see these questions come up quite a bit across the forums - would it be possible for extra visibility to post the recommended minimum specs (and briefly note the problems if those specs aren't met) prominently on the DFU download page here: https://www.dfworkshop.net/projects/dag ... ve-builds/? I think that would really cut down significantly on the confusion/repeat posts (no offense meant to the OP here - right now this info isn't too convenient without a detailed search!).

yabay
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2019 11:32 am
Location: Russia

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by yabay »

.
Last edited by yabay on Mon Jun 21, 2021 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Jay_H
Posts: 4070
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 1:54 am
Contact:

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by Jay_H »

Don't worry about it :lol: We'll help where we can! Hope you enjoy DFU.

User avatar
pango
Posts: 3358
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by pango »

I tested some workaround, with the help of Siva Machina on Discord, who owns a HD-3000.

Replacing

Code: Select all

uint index = tex2D(_TilemapTex, IN.uv_MainTex).a * _MaxIndex;
with

Code: Select all

uint index = tex2D(_TilemapTex, IN.uv_MainTex).a * _MaxIndex + 0.5;
line 88 of Assets/Shaders/DaggerfallTilemapTextureArray.shader seems to fix that particular bug. Not shadows issues or anything else, but still that's a noticeable improvements for people that have to run DFU on that hardware.

That looks like a very inexpensive workaround (most likely lost in the noise), and it seems to work fine on my regular hardware, so maybe it can be added directly into the standard shader?
Otherwise, say if the risk of regression is deemed too high, it could be added to a variant of the shader, so it could be enabled at runtime; But I don't know how to do such things...

I submitted it as a PR
Mastodon: @pango@fosstodon.org
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

Siva_Machina
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:25 pm

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by Siva_Machina »

If more information of my laptop is a Dell Latitude E6420 with 8 GB ram running Kubuntu 18.04

https://www.cnet.com/products/dell-lati ... 247/specs/

GethN7
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 6:38 pm

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by GethN7 »

I have an Intel HD 4400 and I've been able to play with the DREAM mod with few issues and relatively good framerates most of the time, though I occasionally see a few squared off water textures too.

Siva_Machina
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2019 11:25 pm

Re: Possibly a land texture bug

Post by Siva_Machina »

GethN7 wrote: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:50 pm I have an Intel HD 4400 and I've been able to play with the DREAM mod with few issues and relatively good framerates most of the time, though I occasionally see a few squared off water textures too.
As posted above I have tested it. This patch defintly works with my hardware. I hope it gets merged.

Post Reply