Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Curated user bug reports with enough information to reproduce issue. Moderators will move topics here from Help & Support once a bug is confirmed and enough information has been provided.
Post Reply
User avatar
SlainByWoodborne
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:24 am

Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by SlainByWoodborne » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:12 pm

I tried to search for this but the "Search..." feature ignores the word "floating" when I search "floating" or "floating loot".

In the save, there's a loot pile floating above the pedestal in the middle of this room in the Orsinium.
Attachments
Floating_loot_pile_SAVE49.7z
(216.41 KiB) Downloaded 12 times

User avatar
pango
Posts: 1491
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by pango » Fri Apr 19, 2019 2:55 pm

I was about to say it's a game-data related issue, since it happens all over the place and is something that may find a workaround in mods, but this one seems actually correctly placed in Daggerfall classic:
orsinium lootpile 2 - classic.jpg
orsinium lootpile 2 - classic.jpg (41.66 KiB) Viewed 226 times
orsinium lootpile - classic.jpg
orsinium lootpile - classic.jpg (47.56 KiB) Viewed 227 times
When a measure becomes a target, it ceases to be a good measure.
-- Charles Goodhart

User avatar
SlainByWoodborne
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:24 am

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by SlainByWoodborne » Fri Apr 19, 2019 5:51 pm

Even though it appears that way in classic, it's odd to have a floating pile. My guess is that there is an offset variable for other piles that also affects this pile.

User avatar
Interkarma
Posts: 4868
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Win_x64_0.7.91: Floating loot pile above pedestal in Orsinium

Post by Interkarma » Fri Apr 19, 2019 9:46 pm

This one is definitely more pronounced in DFU.

Loot containers such as this one receive an alignment step that takes a best-effort approach at aligning with surface below. The alignment logic is probably hitting an edge case that causes it to push upwards a bit instead. I'll take a look when I can.

Post Reply