I can't figure out how to fight

Post here if you need help getting started with Daggerfall Unity or just want to clarify a potential bug. Questions about playing or modding classic Daggerfall should be posted to Community.
Xipe-Totek

I can't figure out how to fight

Post by Xipe-Totek »

hello! I'm not a native English speaker, so please forgive me (and google translator) for possible mistakes.
I'm new in DFU and Daggerfall. and I really can't figure out how to fight. click-attack kinda boring, also one of the key features of the game is lost. but when I try to hit in "classic" style, I can't do anything. I press right mouse button and hold it pressed, and camera freezes. then I move mouse, but nothing happens. in settings there is mouse threshold. it was 0,02. I set 0,01. it helps, but very little. to hit, I need to move the mouse over a very long distance. and during the blow, the camera sets in motion and follows in the direction of the blow. I can do a stab. horizontal cut is much more difficult. slash or chop - only by chance.
I didn't play original Daggerfall (for me it's too much scary lol) but I tried Arena (only tried, because it's scary too) and I haven't troubles with fighting. it was strange, but comfortable enough.
so or I'm doing something wrong, or something is wrong with the control.
I think would be cool to have control like in Morrowind. different types of strokes, but without unnecessary fiddling with the mouse.

also I have another problem. my rank in guilds don't grow up. how it works? for example, I have Long Blade 40 and Archery 19. reputation in Fighters guild 40. but rank is only journeyman. but my skills is high enough for protector, aren't they? or I must to upgrade ALL fighter's skills to minimum level?

Interkarma

Re: I can't figure out how to fight

Post by Interkarma »

Hey there. :)

The two factors which impact responsiveness of swing animations are WeaponAttackThreshold and your character's SPD attribute.